It has been a difficult summer for most of us with the prolonged intense heat, drought, fires, evacuations, and, the sting in the tail, smoke filled days which depleted one’s energy and curtailed activities. Thanks be to God the good air has now returned along with a desire to resume our CWL work.

Welcome to our two new diocesan past presidents Sylvia Jurys and Maureen Ingram who recently completed their productive terms as presidents of Nelson and Victoria Dioceses, and welcome back to experienced past presidents Sheila Doherty of Kamloops diocese.

Sadly, I was just preparing to send out this communique when I received word that Prince George Diocesan past president Carmen Foucher completed her earthly journey after a year-long battle with cancer. This greatly loved and courageous woman will be missed by all who knew her. May she rest in the peace of the Lord.

Whitehorse is still without a past president. We hope that our presence in Whitehorse for the provincial convention last June will inspire one of their talented and capable executive members to consider stepping up to the presidency and allow President Carol Vanderbyl to assume the coveted position as past president.

Congratulations to Sylvia Jurys, Sheila Doherty and Catherine L’Heureux (both former Kamloops Diocesan presidents) who were elected to Provincial Council as Communications, Legislation and Spiritual Development chairpersons respectively.

I am delighted that two former BC & Yukon council presidents were elected to National Council at the convention in Winnipeg. They are Pat Deppiesse as National Christian Family Life chair and Doreen Gowans, 2nd Vice President and Communications. Our prayers and thanksgiving go with them as they serve our League during this exciting time of transition.

May Our Lady of Good Counsel intercede for us as we Past Presidents draw from our wisdom and experience to aid in the smooth running of our respective councils.

Evelyn Rigby